h1

Introduction: Truth can be scary

March 31, 2007

Ever tried staring at the Sun? I’ve struggled for a while about how to put everything I’ve been learning into words. When people ask me “Hey what’s up?” I’m either lost for words or they lose 2 to 5 hours of their day and come away with a head-ache. The reason for starting this blog is that I want to make an attempt at communicating the things I am learning and to recruit other people in helping me work through all of this. I have been looking at science, I have been looking into history, and cultures, and religions. I have been analyzing the universe and our culture’s way of presenting truth. I’m seeing a lot of things that don’t line up, there’s a lot of things that don’t make sense. More importantly, there is a vast majority of information that people don’t look at, either because they don’t know or because they willfully reject it. I think everyone is guilty of this and I have been trying to purge it in myself. This blog is not about me. It’s about the world, and it’s about you. I think that everyone here will find something that may ultimately challenge their beliefs, and it should or you’re not listening. To that end I’m going to start off this journal with a warning, from a couple people far more articulate than I:

Emily Dickinson:
Tell all the Truth but tell it slant—
Success in Cirrcuit lies
Too bright for our infirm Delight
The Truth’s superb surprise
As Lightening to the Children eased
With explanation kind
The Truth must dazzle gradually
Or every man be blind—

H.P. Lovecraft:
The most merciful thing in the world, I think, is the inability of the human mind to correlate all its contents. We live on a placid island of ignorance in the midst of black seas of infinity, and it was not meant that we should voyage far. The sciences, each straining in its own direction, have hitherto harmed us little; but some day the piecing together of dissociated knowledge will open up such terrifying vistas of reality, and of our frightful position therein, that we shall either go mad from the revelation or flee from the light into the peace and safety of a new dark age.

It is not my intention to scare anyone off. Though I have to wonder if these two knew something most of us do not. I disagree with Lovecraft in that I do not believe all truth is scary. Quite to the contrary I find scientific discovery exhilarating and exciting. It’s just when the world does not line up with your beliefs, which one do you chose? That question stands for everyone – my Christian friends, my atheist friends, evolutionists, and I-dont-really-know-ists, and the poor guy who ran across this site on accident. I hope I can challenge you and I ask you to challenge me. We’re all humans, and I’d hope we’re all searching.

(Sorry the first two posts are vague. It’s all numbers and facts after this.)

Further Comments: It does seem fairly arrogant in retrospect to think that I could come to a happy conclusion when so many others have found either insanity or despair when looking too deeply at the universe.   My  positive assumption came largely from the verse John 8:32 when Jesus said “Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free”.  My question I would pose to you is does freedom necessarily correlate with happiness?  You can be set free from any connection to the world, free of human morality, or free of daily concerns that keep you moving forward.  If you take, for example, the first half of the first Matrix movie ‘freedom’ means waking up to a nightmare worse than you’d ever conceived of, having a metal spike ripped from your head and being flushed into a pool of rotting human remains.  Perhaps, dear traveller, you should seek happiness, not truth.

Leave a Reply

